RSS

May 24, 2011

24 May

Dear Dave,

Yo Bro…what’s shakin’?  lol, I like saying that.  I am not having a very good day today.  First thing this morning I had to take Little Miss Sassy Pants to practice for preschool graduation (which is on Thursday).  She did great, of course.  (We all know I have a genius and talented child 😉 )  But once we got back in the car she started putting two and two together and she realized that graduation means that she will no longer be in preschool…which, in turn, means that she will no longer have Miss C. as her teacher.  As you can imagine, there was a lot of sobbing.  She sobbed all the way to Walgreens where we were going to pick up a picture that we ordered to frame for Miss C’s gift.  She sobbed all through picking out Miss C’s card and gift bag and candy.  She sobbed all through checking out and even treated the cashier to the whole story about how she’s crying because she’s so sad that Miss C. will no longer be her teacher.  She then asked the cashier if she too cried when she graduated preschool and missed her teacher.  Oh my poor heart…it was breaking right along side hers.

On the way home I cheered her up by stopping to buy a flat of strawberries (I think it’s about a gallon)…both of the kids are addicted to strawberries.  I also cheered her up by putting “happy” music on for her in the car.  The happy music of the day was Harry Nilsson’s  Coconut song.  She told me that it cheered her up until she was just a little sad, and not sad enough to cry.

Do YOU need cheering up today?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1wg_L0wGTyA&feature=related

So let’s see…what happened after that?  Oh…I came home to realize that while I left Buddy with Hubby’s Memaw (Grandma) he walked all through the trees down by the driveway that have poison ivy around them.  I’ve been spraying that stuff for years but I can’t ever seem to get it all to die.  Of course I got him in the bathtub and scrubbed him down but hadn’t realized there was poison ivy out there so if he actually got in any it had already been on his skin for an hour or more.  How long does poison ivy take to start itching and rashing up?

THEN I spilled my WHOLE large Sonic Cherry Vanilla coke!  The WHOLE THING!  I don’t buy cokes all that often so they are kind of a special treat when I do.  And I was really enjoying it!  I’m so sad about that coke that I might just get in the car and drive the 15 minutes to Sonic to get another one.  Does that make me pathetic?

I was talking to our sister Anne about my day and she told me to read Proverbs 15.  Proverbs 15:1 “A gentle answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger.”  That chapter is full of gems!

Little Miss Sassy Pants and I rescued another turtle from the road today.  It’s become our mission in life to rescue turtles.  This is probably all kinds of illegal but we have started marking their shells with a little finger nail polish before we set them free.  That way if we ever see them again we will know it’s one of the ones we rescued!  Right now we have a baby alligator snapping turtle in our 40 gallon aquarium.  We found him on the road and he was pretty beat up.  So we rescued him and are fattening him up and keeping him as a short term pet.  Eventually he’ll be set free again, but for now the kids have named him Snowball Stinky Butt Rock Shell.  Buddy calls him Stinky Butt and Sassy calls him Snowball.  I would have taken a picture of this turtle that we rescued today to show you but he escaped the basket that the kids put him in while we were eating lunch.  Smart Turtle.  Here is a picture of one of the ones we rescued a few weeks ago…

pretty turtle!

I have a few more pictures to share with you.  This first one is of Buddy practicing his floating in the bath tub last night.  Do you like the wild man hair?

my little wild man

this next picture is of Little Miss Sassy Pants holding Beans before she went to her new home last night.  If you look at Sassy’s face you can tell she’s been crying.

saying good bye to Beans

and this last picture…well, it’s just because I found it online and I love it.  And you have to come home safely so you can take me here again!!!

Ok…I guess that’s about it for now.  it’s only 2:30 but I should probably actually try to get something done while the kids are sleeping!  Love you so much.

~N.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 24, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
